Congratulations to the SRAU Research Advisory Committee for picking up the Excellence in Research and Evaluation category of the Alcohol and Other Drugs Awards for the New South Wales Non Government (NGO) sector, and was presented the award at the Network of Alcohol and other Drugs Agencies (NADA) conference yesterday evening.

It is unique for a small NGO to have established its own Research Advisory Committee, and to have attracted the distinguished researchers that believe in the potential of SMART Recovery. They have been committed to assisting SMART Recovery Australia achieving objective 4 of our strategy – Improving and Innovating through building the evidence base in our plan.

A sincere congratulations to Professor Frank Deane, Professor Anthony Shakeshaft, Professor Leanne Hides, Associate Professor Peter Kelly, Associate Professor John Kelly, Dr Alison Beck, Dr Victoria Manning, Dr Angela Argent, David Hunt and particularly Professor Amanda Baker as the group’s Chair. The idea to establish the RAC was cemented in Amanda and my first meeting in late 2013 and the RAC was formed in 2014. SMART Recovery Australia recognises this significant and mainly voluntary commitment.